Colin Aikman Award At Victoria University of Wellington

Do you wish to pursue your tertiary studies in New Zealand? Whether you are planning on undertaking your bachelor, master’s or PhD studies, you can now apply for the Colin Aikman Award at Victoria University of Wellington. There is only one scholarship available this year so apply today!

Scholarship Overview



Vitoria University of Wellington is one of the most prestigious and oldest tertiary institutions in New Zealand. It has a proud tradition of academic excellence. The University carries out world-class teaching, research and engagement, drawing on the international mindedness of its location in the capital city of New Zealand.

The University established the Colin Aikman Award in memory of Colin Aikman who was a professor of Jurisprudence and Constitutional Law (1955 – 1968) as well as Dean of the Law Faculty for seven years. The Colin Aikman Award at Victoria University of Wellington aims to provide opportunity for students to study in the areas of human rights, constitutional law, international law or other legal issues that affect the South Pacific. This scholarship call was launched in November 2005, to coincide with the 60th anniversary of the formation of the United Nations.

There is only one award this year which is worth $ 10,000 in value. The scholarship will be tenable for one academic year only. The award won’t be made in any year in which there are no suitable candidates. The successful applicant may apply for a further year. This scholarship is allowed to be held in conjunction with other awards.

Other opportunity:  Doctoral EDUFI Fellowship Program in Finland

Eligibility criteria:

  • Candidates should be intending to study at PhD, Master’s or undergraduate degree level at the University
  • The focus of their studies must be on human rights, constitutional law, international law or other legal issues affecting the South Pacific
  • No limit on nationality

The successful candidate will be based on academic merit in line with the level of study of the student.

Application process

The closing date for the Colin Aikman Award at Victoria University of Wellington is on October 30, 2019. An online application will be available to public approx. one month prior to the scholarship deadline.

Kindly note that all interested candidates are required to complete their online application by the closing date in order to be considered. No late submissions will be regarded.

The selection panel will be responsible to make any decisions for the scholarship purposes. The selection panel will consist of a nominee of the Dean of Law School as well as other appropriate staff of the School of Law.

It must also be noted that the Victoria University Foundation will expect the future qualified candidate to write a letter of thanks to the donor on receipt of the scholarship as well as an end of year progress report.

In case you need further information, please forward your questions to the University directly:

Position: The Scholarships Office
Organisation: Victoria University of Wellington
Address: PO Box 600 Wellington 6140 New Zealand
Phone: +64 4 463 5557
E-mail: [email protected]
Website: http://www.victoria.ac.nz/study/student-finance/scholarships

    1. Samira Sayyid Ahmed Mohamed May 20, 2019
    2. Awonorin Victoria Adeola April 11, 2019
    3. Edris February 19, 2019
      • Abduallah February 23, 2019
    4. Mohammad farid February 17, 2019
    5. Shakira February 17, 2019
    6. Shakira February 17, 2019
    7. Alemayehu Bekele February 16, 2019
    8. Omidullah February 16, 2019
    9. samiullah rasikh February 16, 2019
    10. Yousuf Ali Aadan February 16, 2019
    11. Tolera Denboba February 16, 2019
    12. Mohabbat jan February 16, 2019
    13. ABDALLA YAZIN DAHIR February 16, 2019
    14. Gemechu February 16, 2019
    15. Aliyi Said February 16, 2019
      • Aliyi Said February 16, 2019
    16. Sebadin February 16, 2019
    17. Roshan joshi February 16, 2019
    18. Bahru Lemesa Gemeda February 16, 2019
    19. Asad February 16, 2019
    20. Mohamed adan cabdi February 16, 2019
    21. wondimnw February 16, 2019
    22. salsawit getachew February 16, 2019
    23. Fadumo abdikadir February 16, 2019
    24. Jessica gbajo mark February 11, 2019
    25. Muhammad bilal afzal February 10, 2019
    26. asadullah February 10, 2019
    27. daniel February 10, 2019
    28. Salar jan February 10, 2019
    29. Mohamed moumin hassan February 9, 2019

    Add Your Comment

Get scholarship updates to your email

Enter your email address below, then check your inbox and activate.

Powered by Kirim.Email